Mazda3 Climate Control

Discussion in 'Mazda' started by psyshack, Jan 9, 2008.

1. psyshack

psyshack He who posts articles

It seems some knew this and it is in the owners manual. And I thought I read that darn thing at least three times. I missed this little tid bit of utter insane... I have a college degree in engineering,,, look how I can screw up,,, crap.

If you set the heater up to blow on the floor.... Yes blow on the floor it runs the *&(#%@^*&((_&*(&)(*&_)( A/C compressor down to 38f and doesn't light up the A/C light on the A/C switch.

You expect the A/C compressor to run in defrost/defog. Or when on dash vent or split dash and windshield. BUT ON FLOOR!!!!!!!!

Im soooo mad at myself for NOT seeing this little bit of bad engineering and design in the owners manual. If I had seen it in the first 72 hours of ownership I would have demanded this be corrected or I would have returned the car.

2. xcel

xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

Hi Jeff:

___Do not beat yourself up over this as your FE will show a nice improvement over the nice segments you have posted in the past! Mazda must have inherited the 3’s A/C control from the same “dude’s” that designed the Ranger’s. Anything to the right of Off and A/C is running :angry: Or something like that ;)

___Good Luck

___Wayne

3. brick

brick Answers to "that guy."

There must be some odd obsession with dry air in the auto industry. The Prius will do the same thing on any setting unless you manually disengage the compressor. I didn't figure it out until I had freezing cold air blowing on my hands despite having the climate control set 25F higher than the outside temp.

4. psyshack