User Name Password    
CleanMPG, Learn to raise fuel economy and lower emissions in whatever you drive.
MENU
• What is hypermiling? •
CleanMPG to AAA:
• Hypermiling Rebuttal •
 
• Home
• CleanMPG Staff
• Articles
• Fuel Economy Forums
      • Register
Go Hypermiling!

   Car Reviews:

Transit Connect

Lexus HS 250h

Canadian Insight-II

Canadian Jetta TDI


BMW 335d

Prius-III

Honda Insight-II

HCH-II
   Bike and Gear Reviews:

Kawasaki KLX250SF

Zero S

Aerostich Darien

Shoei Hornet DS


Honda CRF230L

Yamaha XT250


• More Reviews
• Gallery
• Mileage Logs
 
• CleanMPG Store
 
• Calendar
• Glossary
• Garage
• Files
 
• Research
• Related Sites
 
• Archives
• Arcade
 
• Monthly Fuel Efficient •
Vehicle Sales Figures


ScanGauge with X-Gauge: $159.95

Pre-programming, a CleanMPG laser cut decal, and shipping included!



Even better value for members only is available in the latest SG-II w/ X-Gauge Group Buy purchase thread.



While we strive to provide only the highest quality information through our members' offerings, if you find the information provided valuable, please consider a donation so that we can offer an even better experience for the membership and guests well into the future.

Thank you

-Wayne Gerdes
Owner/Admin
CleanMPG



Home Fuel Economy Forums Gallery Mileage Logs

Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   CleanMPG Forums » Conventional Automobile Owners Community » General


General General conventional automobile discussion and overview including questions and concerns.

Welcome to the CleanMPG forums.

Some posts may describe situations which may in some cases be unsafe or illegal in some jurisdictions. Please use common sense and consult your local laws to make sure you do not hurt yourself or others or break any laws.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view discussions, articles and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

Sound too good to be true? probably is.

Tags: , , , ,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 09:51 AM
Nikki Nikki is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicles: Pontiac Vibe
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Sound too good to be true? probably is.

this has probably been said here before, but I think it bears repeating ... If you see a used car deal that sounds too good to be true, it's probably a scam. This is especially true if the "good deal" is for a hybrid or other fuel efficient car.

While searching for a used car for a friend I found a listing for a 2008 Prius for $8200. This was not on an auction site. Listed mileage was 21,000 and the car in the photos looked like it was in good condition, not wrecked. VIN was not included. The zipcode location was in my town, but the phone # was for an area code about 800 miles away. The ad suggested writing to their email address directly [rather than using the response form on the website.] I wrote to the website regarding my suspicion this was a scam and the ad has since been pulled.

Be careful out there!
__________________
*`*`*`*`*`*`*`*`*
Nikki

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 10:11 AM
PaleMelanesian's Avatar
PaleMelanesian PaleMelanesian is offline
Beat The System
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicles: 1996 Civic DX 5spd sedan, 2004 Odyssey
Location: Longview, TX
Posts: 7,621
Re: Sound too good to be true? probably is.

Sometimes it's an undisclosed salvage title. There are still Katrina cars "floating" around out there. Now you can add Gustav and Ike cars to that list.
__________________
Andrew

CleanMPG FE Challenge
100 mpg - 11 mi commute
129 mpg / 3.4 mi segment
80.5 mpg / 1114 miles tank



Reply With Quote
  #3   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 10:59 AM
Boston Man Boston Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Vehicles: 2006 Honda Civic LX Sedan A/T
Posts: 66
Re: Sound too good to be true? probably is.

Some people use this thing called NUMBR

http://numbr.com/
http://www.inumbr.com/

It gives them a temp number to use while the post things on craigslist. It fowards calls to their phone. Maybe that person used it and it was a diff area code. I never used that service so i'm not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 11:25 AM
Maxx Maxx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicles: 2000 Nissan Altima GXE
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 337
Re: Sound too good to be true? probably is.

There have been a LOT of scammers lately on craigslist. The formula is always the same: post a recent model car for between $6K-$10K. Always a scam.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 11:36 AM
93Hatch 93Hatch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Vehicles: 2000 Civic EX 5MT, 96 T&C minivan
Location: Virginia
Posts: 660
Re: Sound too good to be true? probably is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxx View Post
There have been a LOT of scammers lately on craigslist. The formula is always the same: post a recent model car for between $6K-$10K. Always a scam.
Yes, but how do these scammers expect to collect any money?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6   Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl
Old 10-16-2008, 12:26 PM
Nikki Nikki is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicles: Pontiac Vibe
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Re: Sound too good to be true? probably is.

I can think of several reasons why someone might have an out of area number. I remember the ad said the car was in very good condition & I thought it mentioned the remainder of the waranty. Tropical Storm Fay flooded large areas of Florida, so it's likely there are cars with salvage titles "floating" around here too. there were just too many things in that ad that didn't feel right to me.
__________________
*`*`*`*`*`*`*`*`*
Nikki

Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today was a good day, but yesterday was Great! warthog1984 The Daily Grind 1 06-04-2008 09:04 PM
If its to good to be true!? Aether glider General 6 05-29-2008 10:26 AM
How good are American Vehicles? 99HXCivic General 13 05-28-2008 08:23 PM
97.78 mpg - Good and Lucky = big mpg TheRider Street and Performance Bikes 5 05-27-2008 03:35 PM
Insurance Institute: Safest small cars and minivans. xcel In the News 3 04-22-2006 06:19 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2010, Clean MPG LLC. All Rights Reserved.