Archives

View Full Version : “Ride of the week” - April 6, 2008

xcel
04-06-2008, 08:52 PM
“Best of all, I did it all by myself, in my garage with no special tools or skills.” (http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?p=83780)

http://www.cleanmpg.com/photos/data/546/Ben_Nelsons_Electric_Bike_Conversion.jpgBen Nelson - CleanMPG (www.cleanmpg.com) - April 6, 2007

Ben and the EV Conversion Bike

Hybrid cars are great. They are comfortable and get great fuel economy, but they still cost more than I can afford and you still need to put gas in it or change the oil.

Wouldn't it be great if there was something simple that an ordinary guy with no special skills could do to save the environment, save on gas, and have a little fun?

My background is: Nothing special. I don't know how to weld. The only power tool I own is an electric drill. I took one metals shop class in high school and always liked science. But I do like to hang out at the library and learn things.

Two summers ago, I saw an electric bike at a Renewable Energy Fair. It was just a kit with the motor built into the front wheel, a simple controller and some batteries.

I ended up buying a kit. It was great fun, but I wanted more speed, better suspension, etc. At that point, why not just get a motorcycle and convert it to electric?

I started reading up on the subject and was surprised how many people have done exactly that. You can even buy plans on electric motorcycle conversion.

I found a beater frame for sale for $100. The engine was dead. The tranny was smashed. The clutch handle was snapped off. The gas tank was dented. Oh well, I wasn't going to need any of those anyways.

I took out the engine and transmission and stripped it down to just a basic rolling frame.