Archives

View Full Version : Very low tech-- can you pump a car tire with a bike pump?

desdemona
10-25-2007, 11:05 PM
I got one of these fancy foot pump things (looks like it has a compressor but does not). Actually got it for an exercise ball. But I wondered. I always have someone put air in my tires for not wanting to squat down (I have sciatica-- though i have had little problem with it lately).
They do not like to pump it past the max sidewall (or even there). But I have been assured I could pump it up a little more.

Anyway, this thing has a psi to 100 gauge on it. I think it is for bike tires. But I wondered if it could be used for adding a few lbs. to a car tire (just to top it off, so to speak). Just add a couple more lbs.?

Is it doable. It is easy to pump the ball with this, but I have no experience pumping a tire.

--des

ILAveo
10-25-2007, 11:16 PM
If its valve is compatible with your tire's (and it probably is) it would work, but your car tire has a lot more volume than the usual exercise ball or bike tire. You would need to be patient and ready to get some exercise from pumping.

SSixty
10-25-2007, 11:18 PM
Hi Des,
I had a similar foot pump at least a dozen years ago and I found it incredibly inconvenient. My pump never liked to stay planted on the ground and would tip over with the slightest pressure of the foot. I would say, "Give it a try", but don't expect much. It should be good for 45psi I would think.

BailOut
10-26-2007, 12:08 AM
While this will probably work and I applaud you for the manual effort I must point out that most auto and variety stores sell little 12V compressors for $10-$20. We have 2 of them and they work perfectly and make it so easy to pump up the tires that I've become religious about monitoring them.

Back in the days of squatting in a dirty gas station parking lot pumping quarters into a machine that only worked half the time, and whose pressure gauge worked even less often, I had to psyche myself up for it.