Archives

View Full Version : Prius Price tag expected to return to MSRP anytime soon ?

Snefru
09-07-2008, 10:44 AM
Hello,

I may be looking to buy a new car soon. I currently drive a 98 Toyota Tacoma. I'm not very good at hypermiling yet I currently average 21.5 MPG city :(

Due to the frame rot problem that affects some Toyota trucks I may have the option for Toyota's buy back program for a generous price. I would really like to buy a prius but refuse to pay the premium price due to current supply and demand>

Does anyone know if the production of the prius is expected to meet the demand anytime soon and the price to return to normal? If not I suppose I will get buy a 99 Corolla instead.

Thanks

Chuck
09-07-2008, 10:52 AM
Welcome to CleanMPG!

You might get a small reprieve between now and next spring since gas prices are going down a bit, but that's the only possible help I see.

ILAveo
09-07-2008, 12:41 PM
Probably not soon enough, but you should expect competition from the Insight 2 to check Prius price gouging. After the holidays but before income tax rebates arrive tends to be a slow time for sales so it also might be better then.

atlaw4u
09-07-2008, 01:38 PM
I too get frustrated with MSRP markups. You may consider ordering the 09 Prius with no dealer add-ons or look at the upcoming Honda Insight II with a reported base price of $18,500.

Our local Toyota dealer is proud to adverties their new Prius start at just , $27,900 which includes at least $5,000 of dealer add-ons such as tint, pinstriping, scotch guard, paint sealer, etc. . . .

Corolla07
09-08-2008, 05:38 PM
Toyota dealerships will vary. Just like any other car dealership. My local dealership has a small mark-up on their Pruis, but the other dealership in the next town does not. I hate dealer mark-ups too. I was helping a friend get into a 08 Honda Fit Base. But none of dealers in area refused to go below their ridiculous 3k mark-up. Not even a dime. Hours of negotiating for nothing.

phoebeisis