07 auto aveo and ready to cry

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by wallyma, Mar 1, 2008.

1. wallyma

wallyma New Member

my 01 standard nissian got 32 mpg. work is 4 miles at 30 mph.
    this 07 auto aveo is getting 24 mpg.

the aveo revs so high between shifts. I try to accelerate as slow as I can. Is there a trick to fake it out to shift?

I always manually shifted in 1500-1800. this thing shifts in the mid to upper 2000's.

I dont get the hold button. it doesnt seem to work. if I put hold it in 3rd shouldnt it stay there even if I stop and start again?

Can I get this thing adjusted so it shifts lower?

and ideas. i would appreciate it.

2. friedlbug

friedlbug Well-Known Member

Hi Wallyma. Don't despair, winter stinks! I'm a noob here, too, so I'll leave most of the advice to people who know more than me, but my suggestion is to log a few full tanks of gas and see where you are for sure. I'm dealing with the same thing right now - I went from a '95 MT SL1 to my '08 AT Yaris and immediately expected mileage better than I am getting. It will come.
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
  3. BillLin

BillLin MASS: 2016 Crosstrek, 2012 PiP, 2014 C-MAX Energi

Hi Wally,

Those short commutes are really a killer in wintertime... Try the usual quick checks - keep the tires pumped up to sidewall indicated maximum, ensure you have clean motor oil of the correct viscosity and synthetic if you can afford it, grille block of some sort, minimize idle time. Do you park indoors? If so, try an engine block heater for a couple hours before cold starts. Try not to run the cabin heater until you have driven a ways.

Anyway, those are just a few quick thoughts. Good luck!

4. wallyma

wallyma New Member

thnx! These things I will try!
  5. Vooch

Vooch Well-Known Member