where is my gas tank door?

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by LYLUVLY, Dec 4, 2007.

1. LYLUVLY

LYLUVLY Member

I am a new member of CleanMPG. I love this site, enuff to post my 1st time. Read on...
    I have been driving (legally) for over 5 decades. . One would think I would have noticed the little secret on my dash that was staring me right in the face the whole time. I didn't and I bet you probably haven't either.

Quick question, what side of your car is your gas tank? If you are anything like me, you probably can't remember right away. My solution is to uncomfortably stick my head out the window, strain my neck and look. If you don't do this in your own car you definitely have done it in a borrowed or rental car.
    Well ladies and gentlemen, I'm going to share with you my little secret so you will no longer look like Ace Ventura on your way to the gas station or put your neck at risk of discomfort or injury.
    If you look at your gas gauge, you will see a small icon of a gas pump. The handle of the gas pump will extend out on either the left or right side of the pump. If your tank is on the left, the handle will be on the left. If your tank is on the right, the handle will be on the right (see photo below). It is that simple!
    I don't know how you feel right now but when I found out this morning I felt cheated!
    Why don't the dealers share such important information with car buyers? I don't understand why this isn't in the drivers Ed manual? I don't get why any mechanic I have ever been too or know has even thought of mentioning this to me? The only possible explanation can be that all these people probably don't even know! I would have insert a jpg, but have not found the command to insert, yet. TNX for listening.

2. tbaleno

tbaleno Well-Known Member

Welcome to CleanMPG. The site is good because of members like you contributing little tidbits like that.