I'm back... with a new ride!

Discussion in 'General' started by visionseeming, Aug 3, 2019.

1. visionseeming

visionseeming Well-Known Member

Hey fellow hypermilers,

I first discovered CleanMPG over 10 years ago now (probably around June 2008 if I'm remembering correctly). Back then, my daily driver (to college) was a 2001 Mitsubishi Galant, which is what I learned to drive on.

Somewhere in the summer of 2010, my dad was kind enough to buy me a 1994 Geo Metro XFi, with the 5MT of course. I was somewhat active here after I began using that car daily, it's also what I learned to drive manual transmission on.

Lots has changed since then, I graduated college and began work in industry, moved out from my parents house, saved up enough to buy a house of my own, etc. And the Geo got me through the years. It's still a reliable car, and I think my best tank was in the low 70s MPG.

Anyway, after years of wanting to upgrade, I finally bought a used 2013 Toyota Prius C, single owner, dealership-serviced car with ~140k miles on it. Which is actually more than the Geo, which still has only ~105k original miles on it.

It's nice to have all the built in instrumentation on the Prius, I've just got to practice the techniques to really wring out the MPGs from it. I look forward to being (at least somewhat) active on this community again. :)

xcel, 08EscapeHybrid and BillLin like this.
  2. BillLin

BillLin MASS: 2018 Bolt EV and 2017 Prime

Welcome back! Enjoy your Prius C. That's one car I would have liked to try out.

70s (MPG) in the Metro is hard to beat, but you can do it in the C. Good luck!

xcel likes this.
  3. EdwinTheMagnificent

EdwinTheMagnificent Legend In His Mind

Welcome back ! I love the Prius c , and it was a very tough choice to decide between the c and the Liftback
    I bought in 2015. For parking and probably best overall fuel economy , the c wins. But the Liftback will accommodate my