2006 HCH 2 acting really strange

Discussion in 'Honda' started by Stephen Thomas, Sep 12, 2017.

1. I was driving my car to clinicals, I am in my last semester of school to be a Nurse. The brake light went off but braking was not impaired. At lunch, a few hours later, I went to move my car and the power steering was gone. I could barely turn the car, the gear light by drive was blinking like something was wrong with the alternator and the radio was turning on and off. My car would barely start after that. I had to have it towed to my house. I hooked my grid charger up to my IMA batter and it read that it had a charge of 158 volts. I connected the OBD 2 scanner in my car and it pulled up these codes U0110, P0A47F and U1205. Any insight as to what might be going on would be helpful.

BillLin likes this.
  2. S Keith

S Keith Well-Known Member

Bad 12V. Have it LOAD tested. Simply checking voltage does not suffice.

Note that you do not have an alternator. 12V charging is through the IMA motor/IMA battery/DC-DC converter

158V resting is a flat hybrid battery.

BillLin likes this.
  3. Can you clarify Flat hybrid battery?

BillLin likes this.
  4. Also, I had it jumped a couple of times, although just for half a minute, but it did not do much to make anything go away. If it was 12V would it have done more? Just curious not trying to debate. I know you have a lot more knowledge to go on than I do.

BillLin likes this.
  5. S Keith

Bad 12V. Have it load tested. Multiple jumps are just screaming at you that your 12V is bad. Multiple codes from different sources also scream bad 12V.

Furthermore, if your 12V is >2 years old, more chance that it's bad.

Flat hybrid battery = nearly depleted of usable charge. In most cases, a healthy HCH2 hybrid battery after an overnight sit will have a resting voltage >165V.

Stephen Thomas and BillLin like this.
  6. S Keith

P.S. Your 12V is bad.

Stephen Thomas and BillLin like this.
  7. S Keith