Optimum engine RPM

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by Niall, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Niall

Niall New Member

Hi
    I am a driving instructor with too much time on my hands and am wondering about what is the optimum engine speed for maximum efficiency.

The general advice relates to the car speed (around 55mph), and to change gear at lowest engine speed tolerable.

Coming from a motorbike background, I know BHP and Torque are important parameters for engine performance. To date I have not been able to locate any mention of the engine parameters' role in maximizing MPG

Should the rpm where my car engine develops maximum power not be where I achieve maximum MPG?

2. EdwinTheMagnificent

EdwinTheMagnificent Legend In His Mind

In my experience , the optimum RPM is zero. Wish I could help you more. Other folks here could give you a better answer , but depending on engine size and terrain , it could be 1400-1600 RPM.

phoebeisis likes this.
  3. S Keith

S Keith Well-Known Member

The short answer is "it depends".

You have a massive number of variables.

In almost every case, an engine is at optimal efficiency at its maximum power rating, i.e., If an engine puts out 150hp, it burns the least amount of fuel per horsepower when producing 150hp. Thus it's specific fuel consumption is the lowest. However, when does one need 150hp to drive in a fashion where best mpg is the goal? Never.

When you start looking at low power cruise, i.e., 15-20 hp to keep a car rolling down the freeway on flat terrain, mpg is more a function of the amount of MASS flowing through the engine. Each volume of air inhaled on the intake stroke requires a charge of fuel to form the proper stoichiometric mixture for power, economy and emissions. More air means more fuel. Less air means less fuel. Of course, extremely low rpm throws a wrench into it as it may become very inefficient producing power at low rpms significantly increasing specific fuel consumption.