08 HCH II IMA Battery Options

Discussion in 'Honda Hybrids' started by mjbcanuck, May 30, 2016.

?

Gamble on getting a Honda battery for free or buy a Bunblebee battery now

1. Gamble on Honda (save money)

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Bumblebee (or Dorman) battery (fix it now)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. mjbcanuck

mjbcanuck Member

OK, I'm new to a forum like this and I have done some research, but I thought I would put my situation out there for comment on the options I have come up with.

Situation: Vehicle has 122,000 km. Purchased new in the US in May 2008. Had a $10k USD accident in 2012 (low speed side-swipe, two doors and rear quarter panel), however the repairs have held up wonderfully and the car is otherwise in really good condition. Legally imported into Canada in June 2012, Honda factory warranties transferred to Honda Canada and letter from Honda Canada obtained.

Driver: Versed with the tech of hybrid cars from research, knows how to drive the car efficiently, but is no hypermiler.

In the last six months, the battery has gone from 'normal' operation to a point where it only will force charge by the recal method, no 'soft' forced regen at all. The SoC gauge will operate as such:
    1. From 8 bars, the gauge will drop, over time, to 4-5 bars.
    2. The performance of the battery will decrease noticeably during use, from great assist in acceleration at 8 bars to feeling like it's gas only at 4-5 bars. This is also how I know the next step is coming.
    3. At 4 or 5 bars, the SoC will drop to 2 bars and the recal process begins.
    4. The recal is short (compared to my memory of the first recal I saw some years ago,) and in about 5 mins of driving, the SoC is up to 4 bars and I get my AS back.
    5. The SoC gauge rises instantly from 4 bars to 8 bars and regen braking disappears until I use some assist.
    6. AS appears to work as it always had, except just before the recal, when I will get no AS. This is yet another sign that a recal is impending.