iOS OBD Tool development

Discussion in 'General' started by Kalvin, May 21, 2016.

1. Kalvin

Kalvin New Member

Hello All,

I am new here but I have been chasing good fuel economy for a few years now. I had gotten a Scangauge-E hooked up to my 2011 Honda Civic EX AT a while back which has helped me quite a bit but has left me wanted more after a few months. Only shows two gauges at a time, DFCO was not properly detected no matter how much config/reseting.

So I finally (and recently) started on a new project. Instead of upgrading to the Scangauge 2, adding only 2 more gauges, I developed an iOS application. I have my old iPhone 5 lying around which I have been using for my gauge. I call it Cluster as I originally intended to replace my speedometer and maybe the tach with it. I wanted to get the community's opinions on it.

[​IMG]
    ( Mind the horrible AVG mpg, I have a 50.6 AVG record in this 2011 Civic haha...)

So to go over some current features or notes not described by the screen shot,
    • Top bar represents RPM: turns green when in DFCO, red when over warning level (set at 2500)
    • Gear engaged (Being an automatic, this won't be accurate due to the nature of the torque converter)
    Earlier concepts had a map follow the user along with direction/orientation as well as some higher end cars have gps and map capabilities integrated to instrument clusters. Here I had a TPS bar that changed colors depending on throttle pos.

[​IMG]

So rather then spend $130 on another scan gauge, I have made Cluster that reads information much quicker than the scangauge on fast polling, and way more readouts. The maps and location tracking generates a good amount of heat which is why I took it out. I look to include a trip computer as well as other readouts going forward as well.

So what are your thoughts on this? Any suggestions? Thanks advance!

daved, xcel and BillLin like this.
  2. BillLin

BillLin MASS: 2018 Bolt EV and 2017 Prime