Beaded seat covers to stay cool?

Discussion in 'General' started by MPGee, May 16, 2016.

1. MPGee

MPGee Active Member

Hey all,

Anyone ever try using those retro beaded seat covers in an attempt to stay cool?..

I've never used them before, but with summer approaching, and my MPGee-ness staying strong, I would like to try to remain as comfortable as possible, without hurting my FE. Right now I've got a pair of generic faux-leather seat covers on. And, when I tried driving home w/ no shirt on to try to stay cool, I found that my back had adhered itself to the seat cover... NOT COOL. The only gotcha I've seen w/ the design is that if you have a hairy back or long hair, it may not be for you.. :p

Come to think of it, are there any compilation lists on here on ways to tips on how to stay cool w/o AC and windows going?.. Not sure how many other tricks there are, out there...

-MPGee

2. Prozac

Prozac Well-Known Member

Used one on my motorcycle years back and it worked like a charm. It is a little different due to the open airflow, but it should help because it is based off of the same principle.

08EscapeHybrid likes this.
  3. NeilBlanchard

NeilBlanchard Well-Known Member

Yes, they help somewhat. If weather gets really hot, and you want to run with little or no A/C then beaded seat covers help you stay cooler.

A way to stay cool is to use a Kool Tie - it absorbs a lot of water, and as it evaporates off your neck, it cools you very effectively. They are just $11:

http://kooltie.com/

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 16, 2016
  4. 08EscapeHybrid

08EscapeHybrid Moderator

I'm guessing The Mystery Machine didn't have a/c...

[​IMG]

xcel, MPGee and Prozac like this.
  5. EdwinTheMagnificent

EdwinTheMagnificent Legend In His Mind

I used something like that Kool Tie , when I worked in a very hot place. I wore it on my head like a headband. It helped.

6. PaleMelanesian

PaleMelanesian Beat the System Staff Member