Hybrid newbie needs help

Discussion in 'Honda' started by boienn, Feb 27, 2016.

1. boienn

boienn New Member

Hello everyone im in here ebecause im a Hybrid newbie. I would like to purchase a used Honda years 2003-2005 maybe? Is what i have in mind. So im here on this forum with a few general question that im hoping can guid me in the right direction.

Here they are:

What years should I look out for?
    Are some years better than others? ( reliability, safety, mpg)

Battery replacement. How much mileage does each battery usually last?
    Do I need to get an entire battery replacement or can i have individual battery cells replaced?
    How much are the batterys?

Car recalls, What year had alot of recalls?

Im a little scared abou thte 'sticky' gas pedals, which ones ar ethe ones that get stuck?

Thanks in advance/

xcel likes this.
  2. brick

brick Answers to "that guy."

Why are you drawn to the early Honda hybrids? I ask because they were good in their day but battery reliability has been a frustration for a lot of owners. Depending on your needs and what you want to spend we might be able to suggest good alternatives.

xcel likes this.
  3. Prozac

Prozac Well-Known Member

I agree with Tim. The battery packs on the earlier hybrids have proven to be a major reliability concern. While not at nice looking, you would be better off with a Prius of the same genre.

If you decide to go down the Civic Hybrid path, I would highly recommend you do more research on a Honda specific site to gather the information that you seek due to having a higher demographic of owners that will be able to answer your questions a little better than us.

Good luck in your quest for a hybrid.

xcel likes this.
  4. boienn

boienn New Member