All New Acura’s are NHTSA 5-Star Crash Test Rated

Discussion in 'Honda' started by xcel, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. xcel

    xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

    Hi All:

    With the just-announced top rating for the 2016 RDX CUV, Acura has claimed a leadership position as the only luxury automotive brand with its entire U.S. model lineup achieving the top U.S. government NHTSA 5-Star Crash Test Safety Rating. This is the sixth time in brand history that Acura has achieved the top U.S. safety rating across its entire model line.

    The 2016 RDX is the latest Acura to earn a 5-Star Overall Vehicle Score from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in its New Car Assessment Program (NCAP).


    Refreshed for 2016, the Acura RDX incorporates what the brand calls its AcuraWatch suite of safety and driver-assistive technologies. The grouping of safety hardware is now standard on the Advance package and available on all 2016 RDX models.

    Recently added safety equipment for the 2016 model include Collision Mitigation Braking System, Lane Keeping Assist System, Adaptive Cruise Control and Blind Spot Information. The safety equipment is also available across the entire Acura lineup. Missing is rear cross traffic alert which I find very useful when backing out of a tight parking spot for example.

    The 2016 Acura RDX offers enhanced crash safety design with numerous changes to its next-generation Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure. It utilizes a network of connected structural elements to help distribute crash energy more evenly throughout the front of the vehicle, enhancing occupant protection and crash compatibility in front collisions.

    The 2016 Acura RDX has not yet been tested by the IIHS although the 2015 achieved Good Ratings across the board minus any forward collision warning systems as they were not available at the time.


Share This Page