What gear at what speed for a 5-speed car

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by rajaijah, Jun 11, 2007.

1. rajaijah

rajaijah New Member

Hi guys,
    I am new here. just came to know about this site. I read the "New Members Read First" post and followed the links to the topic gear X at speed Y but couldnt get the info i wanted.

I have a 2003 Ford Focus SE 5-speed. I have been driving it for about 2 years. I always wondered whether I am driving in the most fuel efficient way with proper gears at proper speed. this is my driving habit.

1st gear: just to move to about 10mph

2nd : 10 to 20

3rd : 20-45

4th : 45-50

5th : change to 5th from 4th if i am going to be on 50 or above for a long time.

i get about 25 city/ 36 Hw

the focus has a small upward arrow light showing if you are supposed to change gear . It doesn't matter if you are supposed to shift or down shift it just shows a upward arrow. but i don't know how reliable it is.

when i drive to my work there are places where i should go at 20 -25 mph. i travel at 3rd gear. most of the driving is 35 & 40 and i go in 3rd gear.

also if I am supposed to travel a long stretch at 40 should i change from 3rd to 5th so i travel at low RPM. do i save fuel by doing that or am i hurting the parts.

most of my driving is flat surface except for 1 railway bridge.

is my driving habit right?

2. diamondlarry

diamondlarry Super MPG Man/god :D

Generally, the highest gear you can be in without lugging the engine is best for FE. Welcome to CleanMPG.

3. Chuck

Chuck just the messenger

Want to add to that you will want to gently increase that mininium speed in 5th gear if approaching a hill.

4. BailOut

BailOut My favorite holiday is Earth Day!

My car is about the same size as yours, and I shift much earlier with my 5-speed.

1st: 1-8
    2nd: 9-17
    3rd 18-24
    4th 25-34
    5th: 35, to a maximum speed of 55