Scangauge II Intermittent Startup Glitch

Discussion in 'ScanGauge' started by Doverboy, Mar 19, 2014.

1. Doverboy

Doverboy Member

I've been using my sgii for approximately 4 years and it is terrific.

However, sometimes when I start the ignition, the sgii provides incorrect data on 2 of the gauges. All 4 slots display readings, but MPG is at 9999, letting me know the "glitch" is occurring (if I look). I confirm the glitch by going into the menu and returning to the gauges, at which point upper left and lower right are blank. The displayed gauges are accurate and changing the specific gauge reading does not fix the problem.

When this happens, I park, turn off the ignition, wait for the sgii to turn off, restart and everything works fine.

This problem occurs intermittently and is easy to fix, but very annoying.

Quite often, I don't notice the problem until I'm already on the road and I'd rather not have to pull over and shut down to fix the glitch. Sometimes I don't and it messes up my overall data.

I've been dealing with this glitch since I started using the sgii 4 years ago. The frequency of the glitch is approximately once every 2-3 days.

I have the original firmware and would rather not update as the version provides everything I need.

I drive a 2001 Jetta GLS 2.0 4-Speed AT 01m with 163k miles, and it is well-maintained with no modifications.

For power, the sgii uses the the OBD connector. I also have a Sirius Sat radio powered from the "cigarette lighter".

1. Has anyone else experienced this glitch? I've searched and have not found a similar post. If so, were you able to fix it and how?

2. Is there a way to power down the sgii itself while driving, without resorting to disconnecting the unit? (I feel a little silly asking this, as one would think there indeed is a simple way to do this.)

Thanks for your help!

2. xcel

xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

Hi Doverboy: