Hello from Austin,TX Driving 09 F150 Crew

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by jeffak91, Aug 6, 2013.

1. jeffak91

jeffak91 New Member

Hello,

I live outside Austin, TX and drive a 09 Ford F150 SuperCrew 4.6L V8. I used to be a lead foot driver, but not anymore. Currently, I only practice coasting to stops, driving 45-55 mph, and slower accelerations. My commute is about 50 miles roundtrip to work with hills and some stop lights. Speed limits are between 50-60mph. I have only seen an increase from about 17.5mpg to 18.5mpg. Most of your test are with gas saving cars. I can't afford to get a second car or even get rid of my truck. Do you have some tips for truck drivers!? Any article links would be great too!

Thanks! Love this site!
    Jeff

2. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney Super Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to CleanMPG. "In whatever you drive", says the motto.

Is your transmission manual or automatic?

I don't have a pick-up, so I can't give specific advice but:
    - in any heavy vehicle it's particularly important to keep momentum and use it. So, the set of techniques in Driving Withou Brakes is invaluable: light timing, smart braking, threading the needle, N-glides to stop (although some pick-ups can coast very well, right?) and route selection to avoid stops.
    - With any boxy vehicle the poor aerodynamics hurt at higher speeds. So, keeping your speed down is good. Also, I believe rear up and cover on helps the aero a bit. You can get more aerodynamic covers but I don't know how much it helps.