First Tank 2012 TCH LE....42.66 mpg

Discussion in 'Toyota Camry Hybrid' started by DaveJ, May 6, 2013.

1. DaveJ

DaveJ Well-Known Member

Just filled up on my first full tank (I first filled up at 177 miles) and using ODO got 42.66 mpg. Car MPG tank gauge said 45.1, so mine is optimistic just like many others have reported.508.9 miles used 11.93 gal. Used same pump and used the fill it until it almost goes on the ground method, very full.
    This tank was about 65% hwy. and 35% town.
    If I factored in the 3% ODO error (which I checked against 2 different GPS's), it would be 43.94mpg, but I feel to compare with other reports, I should just use the ODO uncorrected reading.
    I varied speed on highway since it is a new car. I also probably drove it a little easier than I will normally, but I'm still learning the hybrid system as this is my first hybrid.

Last edited: May 6, 2013
  2. priusCpilot

priusCpilot George

Not bad! I wounder if this get the best MPG in its class?

3. xcel

xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

Hi Dave:

Excellent for your first tank!

I am interested in some steady state 60 and 65 mph results when you get the chance too.

Wayne

4. DaveJ

DaveJ Well-Known Member

I'll be happy to. I need to get at least one more tank to dial in my scan gauge, and then I'll post the info. May be a couple weeks or so.

5. xcel

Hi Dave:

Thanks!

Wayne

6. DaveJ

DaveJ Well-Known Member

My second tank is close to the first. 625.6 miles used 14.61 gal. for 42.82 mpg.
    Interesting thing is cars mpg gauge was showing 46.7 mpg, 3.88 optimistic, much higher than first tank of 2.44 mpg optimistic. I was careful filling and used same pump, but maybe I got it fuller this time? I did not think so, but this car is kind of funny filling, so will prob. have to use 5 tank average to be very accurate.
    With my 3% error on odometer factored in, I guess a real 44.1 mpg is still pretty good.

Wayne, I'll get the steady state mpg for you soon.