New wheels - PaleMelanesian's 2009 Fit

Discussion in 'My Ride' started by PaleMelanesian, Jan 14, 2013.

1. PaleMelanesian

PaleMelanesian Beat the System Staff Member

I'm back!

After years of mumbling about it, I finally upgraded to a new set of wheels.

2009 Honda Fit Sport
    Manual
    44,000 miles
    OEM wheels have been painted black. I like the look.

[​IMG]

Things I gained:
    • AC (especially the defrost function)
    • Radio w/ Ipod support
    • Side airbags front and rear
    • ABS
    • Hatchback!
    • electric power steering that works in FAS
    • quicker steering ration (2.5 vs 3.2) for sportier feel
    • timing chain that doesn't wear out
    • tachometer. No more shifting by feel and sound.

Things I lost:
    • years of memories. With the old car I graduated college, got married, honeymooned, bought a house, brought home three babies, etc.
    • Gear ratios: 5th is 2800 rpm at 60 mph, a bit worse than my old 2500, which was already bad.
    • lost some horizontal cargo space. That's in exchange for double the volume, and a full hatchback-sized fold-flat 2nd row.
    • gained 200 lb of vehicle weight (now 2500), but that's mainly safety gear. I'll take it.
    • 2 mpg epa, but I know it's capable of plenty. And I gained a lot of utility for that.

Things that are the same:
    • 1.5 liter Honda engine vs the old 1.6
    • 5-spd manual transmission
    • White
    • power-to-weight is nearly identical, and so is performance (slow :p)
    • bought from the same Chevrolet dealer as the old one. :p

Updated for more pictures:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  2. MaxxMPG

MaxxMPG Hasta Lavista AAA-Vee Von't Be Bach

Re: New wheels.

Congrats! And glad to see you back after a protracted absence. If anyone can make the Fit sing, it's you, and I am looking forward to seeing what the new car offers in your hands.

3. PaleMelanesian