2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Discussion in 'The Daily Grind' started by DopeEdogg, Nov 26, 2012.

1. DopeEdogg

DopeEdogg Active Member

I just bought a new 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid. :woot: I am new to hybrids and driving techniques to maximize MPG. I took it out for a couple test runs to see how it did, and to get a feel of how/when the EV kicks in.

Here is a small in-town "city" test. I drove about 1.8 miles to my parents house. There is about 6 stop signs/stop lights on this route. But I manages 50.2MPG ! !:eek:

[​IMG]

I decided to do a constant speed MPG test this morning. I drove 29.6 miles, all freeway. I set the cruise control to 62 MPH and turned on eco mode option. I chose 62 MPH because that is the Max speed using just the batteries to maintain speed. And when set at 62, it did a pretty good job. I could see the gauges turn blue with the EV displayed, signifying all electric mode. It went maybe a half mile to a mile at a time in all electric mode, then the gas engine would kick on for a mile or two, then the electric would kick back on for another half mile or so. It pretty much did this the entire drive.

Anyways, I got 47mpg on that trip which is exactly the EPA rating! Not bad for only having 150 total miles on the car!

[​IMG]

2. herm

herm Well-Known Member

Pretty amazing you got 11.4 miles EV out of it.

3. DopeEdogg

DopeEdogg Active Member

I just did another short freeway test. This time I tried a little P&G. This is my first attempt at any hypermiling techniques. I drove on the same freeway as in my previous post, where I recieved a dead-on 47MPG doing 62mph on eco-cruise.

This time I did P&G pulsing to 70mph and gliding to about 55mph. I did see a little improvment by about 2mpg. I hit 48.9mpg ! !

[​IMG]

4. CRT1

CRT1 Newbie McNewbster

DopeEdogg, These are nice numbers that you are getting, but the EPA highway test has a lot of changes in speed making it considerably more aggressive than a flat freeway run.