2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by DopeEdogg, Nov 25, 2012.

1. DopeEdogg

DopeEdogg Active Member

Just Purchased my first Hybrid car. I bought a brand new 2013 ford fusion hybrid on 11/23/12. :woot: I"ve driven it for 2 days now ha ha. So far all is good. I am totally new to all hybrid technology and driving/hypermiling techniques.

When I first rolled out of the dealership, the car had about 23 miles on it and the Avg Lifetime MPG was about 17. :eyebrow: I drove it home about 30 miles from the dealer ship ( all highway) and when I arrived at my house, the new Avg lifetime MPG was about 25. :D
    Today is day 2 of driving, and I drove about another 25 miles just farting around town. Now, the new Avg lifetime MPG is 33.8. The owners manual says it takes a good 3-6 weeks of breaking in the new batteries and motor to get the best possible MPG.
    After 2 days, so far this seems to be the case. Each trip in the car I can see the Avg MPG slowing increasing, especially driving around town. The 2013 Fusion boasts it can travel up to 62 MPH in all electric, and this is TRUE ! ! I can consistantly drive on the freeway at 60 MPH in all electric, and I notice increases in Avg MPG when travelling at 60 MPH and Under, in EV mode that is.

So after 2 days of not too much traveling, I am around 33-34 mpg Avg. The 2013 fusion has an EPA rating of 47/47 MPG, so I am still a little off from that, But hopefully the MPG will keep increasing. I am going to try some hypermiling techniques in the next couple weeks and am excited to see what I can get.

Any questions, comments, are welcomed. ! ! !

Thanks ! ! ! :stickshift:

2. herm

herm Well-Known Member

Congratulations!.. I hope many more people do the same and buy a hybrid. Welcome to the board.

3. EdwinTheMagnificent

EdwinTheMagnificent Legend In His Mind