Increase the MPG for a 2009 ex-leased prius

Discussion in 'Toyota Prius Family' started by Cats59, Jul 27, 2012.

1. Cats59

Cats59 New Member

I recently (2 months ago) acquired a 2009 ex-leased Prius with 19k on the clock.
    I was very happy with my 35mpg (a vast improvement on my previous 13 yr old cars 18mpg) Until a Prius driving cab driver burst my bubble. He was getting 44mpg in stop and go Los Angeles traffic.
    This friendly cab driver suggested changing the engine air filter (I just ordered a new one on ebay) and changing the oil ( I don't remember which oil he suggested I change it to)

So my question is, Is it worth getting an oil change? what kind of oil will make the improvement? Is there something that the previous driver was doing that has permanently reduced my MPG?, could there be a problem with the battery?

I'm a newbie here with hybrids and do not drive vast distances, I never drive on the freeway and mostly drive distances of less than 20 miles.

2. lxmike

lxmike Well-Known Member

Oh Myyy!! My Friend if you do a lil research here and listen to the tips you get here 44 will seem low!!

3. southerncannuck

southerncannuck Well-Known Member

Off hand I doubt that the air filter would make any difference. If you just got the car you might want to change the oil just so you have a known starting point. Poke around this site and you'll pass 50 mpg. Make sure your tire are well inflated, and learn to anticipate having to slow down....and coast.

Best of luck!

4. herm

herm Well-Known Member

Cats, where do you live?.. perhaps a nearby forum member can give you some tips.

5. EVuser

EVuser Well-Known Member

Welcome. I'm having a hard time believing a Prius only getting 30 something MPG. Do you let it idle a "large" amount of time? Idling with the AC on is going to lower your mpg on anything if you do it long enough. Numerous Prius owners on the forum.:flag:

6. phoebeisis

phoebeisis Well-Known Member