Anyone here insulate their vehicle?

Discussion in 'General' started by TheStepChild, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Just wondering if anyone else has insulated their vehicle?

Its not much weight, 100 sq ft of the stuff I used in the Silverado was 25.1 pounds shipped. And 100 sq ft was almost enough to do the whole truck, a crew cab, floor, ceiling, doors and back wall.

I mainly did it to lower road noise and, many times Ive been out in the middle of no-where and run out of hours (DOT rules, I have to run a log book and all that crap), and stopped for the night catching a nap in the back seat. I cant sleep with the truck running. So winter time I have a 0 degree sleeping bag with me for those times I cant get a room somewhere.

What I instantly noticed after insulating the truck this summer was less heat coming in off the drivetrain, and I didnt have to run the A/C as hard to keep the truck cool while driving, and its a lot quieter too:woot:

2. Here's a few random pics of the project.

Basically, remove EVERYTHING, insulate, re-install.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

dont look too bad for over 300,000 miles :) :

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. southerncannuck

southerncannuck Well-Known Member

Yes, I have. I once had a Mustang GT that was so loud it hurt. More recently I added leaded sheets to the back third of the FIT. It helped, but I stopped before I did the doors. Since I no longer commute on the highway, roadnoise isn't a problem. Good luck, and happy dreams.

4. Chuck

Chuck just the messenger

This may not exactly be the answer you were asking for, but cardboard in front of the radiator allows the engine to warm up faster - big rigs even have kits for that.

5. Yea, Ive got the chevy winter front covers.

I was just posting this here, beacuse Ive noticed less a/c use with it during summer time temps and thought it might help others run more efficiently. work the a/c or heat less, less strain on the engine... IDK maybe not

6. Chuck