New Ranger Driver

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by k_redball92, Nov 15, 2011.

1. k_redball92

k_redball92 Active Member

I'm a college student with a 2000 Ford Ranger 3.0 4x4. I live in NE Ohio, so I definitely enjoy the 4-wheel drive with all the lake effect snow, but I cant stand getting only 17-18 MPG freeway...I'm just here to learn a few tips to push that number up into the 20s...

2. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney Super Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to CleanMPG.

We suggest you start with the CleanMPG Primer. It contains or links to important information for hypermilers.

The good news for you is that the Ford Ranger can return some great numbers for a pick-up and many people here lament Ford letting it die in the US market.

3. k_redball92

Thanks for the links..I'll be sure to read as much of it as I can! Does anyone know if there's any information on what kind of MPGs other ranger drivers are getting? I'm new to the site, so I'm still kinda slow as far as navigating

4. msirach

msirach Well-Known Member

Welcome to CleanMPG k_redball92! I have a 96 Mazda B4000 4x4 which is a Ranger with a different badge. I will post more later. You have hope!

5. Welcome. I've got a.ranger but haven't had it long enough to know the mpgs.

6. k_redball92

Thanks for the welcome guys! and yes I know the Mazdas are the exact same thing as the rangers...im looking forward to seeing some of your numbers msirach, and yours step child in the future.

7. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney Super Moderator Staff Member

If you go to the Mileage Log link on the left-hand side, you can display all the vehicles and search the page for Ranger. From the logs you can see that there are plenty of Rangers in the 30s. With your larger engine and 4WD you'll find it harder, but I'm sure the pick-up drivers here can help you raise your mileage.

8. msirach