Hypermiling legal constraints

Discussion in 'Legislation' started by Bruce, Jan 26, 2007.

1. Bruce

Bruce cheapskate

Hypermiling legal constraints - MA

I did a little research to find out what hypermiling techniques are legal in MA, what aren't, and the consequences. Caveat: I'm not a lawyer.

MGL Ch. 90 spells out most of the motor vehicle law:

http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/mgl/gl-90-toc.htm

The Mass Pike (plus Central Artery and tunnels) have their own regulations:

http://www.masspike.com/aboutus/regulations.html

Fines are listed at:

http://www.mass.gov/courts/courtsandjudges/courts/districtcourt/trans924revisedcmviassessments.pdf

Driver's manual is at:

http://www.mass.gov/rmv/dmanual/index.htm

Surcharge Points values (p. 124-135):

http://www.mass.gov/Eeops/docs/mrb/AdministrativeProcedures.pdf

Of interest to hypermilers:

- On the Mass Pike, the minimum speed is 40 MPH except in climbing lanes. Violation carries a $20 fine/2 points. On other limited-access highways, the driver's manual considers 45 MPH to be the safe minimum speed. Obstructing traffic (e.g. blocking traffic by going too slow) on any public road carries a $20 fine/2 points.

- Coasting (operating with gears disengaged) on the Mass Pike carries a $100 fine/2 points. I haven't seen any regulations governing coasting on other public roads.

- Tailgating has a $100 fine/2 points on the Pike and a $20 fine/2 points on state highways.

Countering the gas-wasters, MA has a $100 fine ($250 for second offense) for idling more than 5 minutes (unless the engine is needed), and leaving an idling motor vehicle unattended is illegal as well ($35/2 points for first offense, $75 and $150 for 2d and 3d respectively).

Perhaps others would care to research their respective jurisdictions and post the results here for reference.

Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  2. Skwyre7

Skwyre7 Well-Known Member

Re: Hypermiling legal constraints - VA

This is what I could find for VA: