Kickin' it up a notch

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by Bruce, Jan 17, 2007.

1. Bruce

Bruce cheapskate

Hey, all!

I've been surfing the site for several months, working on my technique, and decided to join so I could take it to the next level.

I'm basically a cyclist on sabbatical with some exposure to automotive engineering (My dad recently retired from GM, and I spent a summer in Corvette Engineering before graduating from MIT in `92), so I'm aware of a lot of the physics and mechanics of what's going on even though I haven't tinkered with engines much. Between commuting and ultramarathon riding, I've put in about 100,000 miles on the bike. I bought a car in July to alleviate some chronic health issues; I expect to be back on the bike within a year or so, but I expect to keep the car.

My car is a `99 Chevy Prizm, a Corolla clone for less money. I bought it for its low overall cost (purchase, maintenance, gas cost), high reliability and good safety record. I figured the majority of my driving would be just back and forth to work, so a small vehicle made sense despite the allure of a wagon for ride support during cycling events (wagon selection in my price range was limited anyway; there were a lot fewer models a few years ago than there are now). I expected that some of my driving would be for solo checks of bike routes, so I bought an automatic (4-sp, locking TC) so I could drive while taking notes. Unfortunately, the auto will hurt optimizing FE with my particular commute; even though the auto has a taller final ratio than the manual, at the lower speeds I'm driving the TCC is unlocked most of the time. I didn't know I'd be interested in hypermiling when I bought the car; if I had, I probably would've given stronger consideration to a Metro with a stick.