Hello from another new guy

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by brick, Mar 8, 2006.

1. brick

brick Answers to "that guy."

Hi everybody! I've just happened upon this scene in the last few days, also registering at greenhybrid. I have been logging fuel consumption data religiously since I bought my new (used) non-hybrid Accord last summer. My driving style has always been somewhat efficient but I would like to step it up a bit and see what I can do to improve the LMPG from the current average of 30. So far I have done lots and lots of reading, and ordered a scangauge just for kicks.

I'm a relatively new mechanical engineer with a background in laboratory IC engine research. That involved some really interesting toys (optically accessible research engines, direct injection, huge lasers, etc.) but by no means makes me an expert. All that just "lit the fire," so to speak. As for paying the bills, I've been working in the nuke industry for about a year and 9 months now.

I'm really looking forward to following the conversation here and contributing whatever I can. The potential for record summer fuel prices ought to be good motivation to practice my driving technique as well!

Happy motoring

Tim

2. psyshack

psyshack He who posts articles

Welcome!!!

With fuel inching back up in price,, Im sure this and other sites will get busy. Reg. unleaded has went up .24 cents a gal. in the last week here.

psy

3. gonavy

gonavy Well-Known Member

A Nuke, with a non-hybrid Accord who wants to hypermile... sounds familiar.

I dub thee Xcel-lite.

Wayne, have you been recruiting on campus?

4. xcel

xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

Hi Tim:

___Welcome to CleanMPG!