Newbie from minnesota

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by niceguy, Sep 23, 2008.

1. niceguy

niceguy Member

Hello Hyper milers

I am new to the forms but I have been posting my mileage for the past 2 months or so. It seems that I am doing about 5-10 percent better then the EPA, but how can I do better? I see some people doing 20-40 percent above the EPA.

I have tried turning my car off at stop light but just had my Ignition switch replace so I don’t think I will be doing that to much any more.

I don’t have dead weight in the trunk.
    Tires are inflated to the tire max on the side walls.
    I have a scan guage and that seemed to help me get .5-.75 miles better to the gallon.
    I do routine maintenance and just replaced a dirty air filter.

If you have any links that I should read please let me know.

Thank you
    Mike From Saint Paul

[​IMG]

2. MT bucket

MT bucket I want my MPG!

Hi Mike from St paul! I am Mike from minneapolis :)

Looks like you have a good start there, have you read waynes post beating the epa yet?

http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1510

If you want to get together sometime you mabye can show me how you are driving, and mabye I can give you some tips to get you at least 30 over if your car is in good working order.

MT

3. laurieaw

laurieaw Sorceress of the North

hi mike (and mike). welcome to the forums. i am laurie from st. joe. you will find plenty of minnesota help on here :)

4. Right Lane Cruiser

Right Lane Cruiser Penguin of Notagascar

What they said -- Sean in Coon Rapids, checking in. ;)

5. Chuck

Chuck just the messenger

I'm not from Minnesota, but near I35E like you...just 1000 miles south. :D

6. m0zingo

m0zingo Member

josh from eagan . . . well i will be in a week because i'm moving back up north to my home town. it would be cool to have a get together some time.

7. MT bucket

MT bucket I want my MPG!