Two (2) P&G questions

Discussion in 'Start Your Journey Here' started by Dougmeister, Jul 30, 2008.

1. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Member

1) Does "Pulse & Glide" by definition mean:

a) not depressing the accelerator
    b) putting the vehicle into neutral
    c) putting the vehicle into neutral AND turning the engine off?

Thanks.

Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  2. sandman

sandman Active Member

I am just learning about P&G myself but those methods you mentioned are all ways to Glide. I would say the definition of P&G would be you pulse up to a certain speed then glide to a lower speed. To make it simple you have a set speed lets say 35mph, you then would Pulse up to 40mph then glide down to 30mph and repeat.. Here is the hard part learning the best way to pulse and best way to glide to obtain best MPG..

3. PaleMelanesian

PaleMelanesian Beat the System Staff Member

(a) is not really a glide. It's engine-braking.
    (b) and (c) are both glides. (c) will give better mileage, but it's not for everyone, or every car, or every situation. Use with discretion.

Sandman - that's the basic idea. 30-40 P&G will give pretty good results. That's a very useful range.

Try to adjust to the conditions, always trying to maximize the glide. That's where the magic happens.

4. phoebeisis

phoebeisis Well-Known Member

With some vehicles there isn't any perceptible engine braking despite being an AT and leaving it in D rather than N. This holds in my 98 Suburban down to about 23-25 mph where I can finally feel a downshift and a bit of engine braking.

I can't think of any good reason to not put a MT in N. With ATs there is a good reason to leave it in D (especially if they have been designed to not provide engine braking). The reason is that occasionally folks have accidently slipped it into R while trying to bump it into N. Some ATs also aren't flat towable ,and that changes how you should P&G.