Pulse & Glide vs Cruise Control - a study

Discussion in 'Fuel Economy' started by Doc Willie, Apr 14, 2008.

1. Doc Willie

Doc Willie Shuttlecraft Commander

Here's my first attempt with preliminary data from seven runs. Details will be presented at
    HybridFest.

Speed limit: 35-55 MPH 46.1 MPG 32 MPH Av

P&G: 38-15 MPH 78.9 MPG 23 MPH Av
    CC: 23 MPH 67.1 MPG 20 MPH Av
    P&G: 40-25 MPH 66.2 MPG 27 MPH Av
    CC: 29 MPH 73.3 MPG 25 MPH Av
    P&G: 43-5 MPH 62.3 MPG 22 MPH Av
    CC: 25 MPH 76.6 MPG 22 MPH Av

Summary: P&G in this range is more efficient only within a certain range (in my case determined by setting the pulse range by the IGN [ingition advance] readings on the ScanGuage.

At the fifteen MPH and Max Pulses, cruise control is more efficient.

This data is surprising to me, and I intend to make another set of runs.

2. GreenVTEC

GreenVTEC Well-Known Member

I'm new to this but unless I'm wrong wouldn't the EV mode on the Toyota Prius be a factor in the lower results from a P&G run?

If you are continually leaving electric only to speed up for a glide then by default wouldn't an electric only CC run give better results?

I suppose it would depend on what distance travelled for the test!

Last edited: Apr 15, 2008
  3. bestmapman

bestmapman Fighting untruth and misinformation

Hi Doc,

What are the other factors in your experiment/observations. Such as temp, distance, legnth of pulse, etc.

I seem to get the best results pulsing between 26 and 20. If I have a flat run and can P&G undisturbed, I can pull out over 100 MPG pretty easily.

I'd like to see more of your results.

DiamondLarry and Xcel may want to way in here as they have more experience and better results then I do.

4. B.L.E.

B.L.E. Well-Known Member

I think your high peak speeds are killing your gas mileage. You are hitting high peak speed with a low average speed. Try doing it with a smaller speed delta, say pulse to 30 and glide to 25 and see how that compares with steady speed.